BOOK REVIEWS

Jae's Assignment

BRAB reviews, June 2018:

In this book, Bernice Layton details how Jae’s team worked together and how an agent becomes a rogue agent and stops at nothing to get what he wants including murder. As a team, they were very protective over Jae. She also details how things looked on the outside, but much was happening behind the scenes as well as before Dr. Trevor Grant was placed in the witness protection program (you have to read the book to find out why). Even though this action book has gunfire, murder, manipulation, and deceitfulness romance is intertwined among several of Jae’s team members unexpectedly. This is a great read you will not be able to put it down until you have read the last word. I highly recommend this book.

I’m looking forward to reading more of Bernice Layton’s books.

GOODREADS

Lynda Garcia's review:

Jun 12, 2016

really liked it, Read from June 09 to 12, 2016

Assignment complete!

It's a romantic novel wrapped up in a espionage thriller whodunit...there's a mole in the FBI....special agent JR is sent in to deliver a package to safety. The package turns out to be Dr. Trevor Grant/Adian Cole....who is supposed to be save in a witness protection program and Jae had gone undercover previously posing as his assistant/Secretary....she thought that was the end...little did she know the twist and turns was going to lead into a dangerous quagmire and more importantly into her true love arms

 

MrsGiggles – Hot Sauce Reviews:

Jae’s Assignment is interesting, to me, because often in romantic suspense, we have the man doing all the heavy-lifting and he is at the forefront of the whole story, while the woman is usually in a more clerical or data-analytical role. Here, however, Jae seems the one doing the rear end-busting and all.

Trevor Grant is a bearded, nerdy-looking guy who has a PA, Jae Randall. She is, to his estimation, someone who wears frumpy clothes because she seems unaware of how hot she can be. But when he spots her at his desk, fiddling with who knows what, he fires her.

Wait, there is more to this. As you can guess, both are pretty hot once they clean up and dress good. But he’s also someone under the Witness Protection Program, while she’s actually a secret agent trained to do really special FBI stuff. When his cover is blown, guess who is assigned to help him get to safety.

Where Is My Doctor:

Great book! #SuspenseRomance #Suspense #BerniceLayton #Netgalley #Review

Title: Jae’s Assignment Author: Bernice Layton Genre: Military, FBI, suspense, romance, mystery

The idea of a women being his contact was awesome! Jae is a kick a– women! I found it funny how Ape-man or Trevor slinks away from Jae’s co-workers when stuck in tight corners. As the story went on I felt for Luke I wanted him to live and be saved! I was rooting for him. The whole chase trying to figure out what is going on felt slow but the build up at the end was great! Did not expect that final showdown to end that way. Thoroughly enjoyed this story.

 

Rt. Book Reviews:

Romantic Suspense - In Bernice Layton’s Jae’s Assignment, a no-nonsense special agent finds herself protecting a doctor. Thrills abound!

Reviews for Finding Cade:

5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Cade
Reviewed in the United States on December 21, 2019


Very interesting reading she's your left wondering where this is going next. I kept waiting for Valerie to get caught and hurt because of the things she knows from her trance state. Now I have to
read the next book to find out what happens next. I recommend reading.


Verified Purchase:
I love mystery books and this book have a little bit of paranormal as well. Good combination! Keep reading the scene where Cade were shot on the road had me moving on to the next page. So
many questions...ready for book 2.


Verified Purchase:
5.0 out of 5 stars The ties that bind us together are sometimes intuitive......


Reviewed in the United States on September 15, 2019:

This book will take you on a fantasy ride that you will not soon forget. The ‘gift’ that Aunt Ruby left behind for Valerie was something that not most people could easily understand. Imagine being so drawn in by a vision that you would risk life and limb to save a tortured soul. The imagery in this book encapsulates the very being of what it is to be intuitive, spiritual, and gifted. It also speaks to the greedy nature of man and how life is not any more valuable than a dollar amount. Although Cade seems to have lost a lot, what he gained was so much more in finding Valerie.


The cataclysmic connection that they have is unwavering. Not to give too much away, but I am very intrigued on where there journey will take them next. Will Cade survive once the curtains are
opened to reveal the truth? Will Valerie’s gift be accepted and finally taken seriously? Only time will tell.
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and breathtaking.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and breathtaking
Reviewed in the United States on September 18, 2019:

Its been a while since I've read a book that pulled me in through gravity from the very first page. I loved every bit of this book and I'd probably consider it to be out of the norm of what I usually read and I still very much enjoyed it so. Imagine having to save someone before knowing you have to save them and then actually trying to save them. That's the story between Valerie and Cade. Valerie possesses this gift that can potentially save Cade who is a wrecked soul. We read books all the time where the man saves the woman and this time, the woman has the ability to save and I love that aspect of this book. The way the author brought these two together is quite impeccable and I can't wait to see what happens next! Very, very, great read!


Reviews for Cade’s Return:
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2021
Verified Purchase


Enjoyed reading this exciting story It built up intensity as it progressed The climax was well done
I laughed out loud at Lynne's description of their Aunt HEA.


5.0 out of 5 stars It was amazing
Reviewed in the United States on June 27, 2019
Verified Purchase


i totally enjoyed this book. It was not what I expected so I was pleasantly surprised. I thoroughly enjoyed it. waiting for more.


5.0 out of 5 stars Cataclysmic
Reviewed in the United States on September 19, 2019


Valerie and Cade were two souls so well matched that you would think they had been created for each other. The way that she cared for him tirelessly and made sure that he understood his value, was admirable. There connection was spiritually and otherworldly to the extent that I don’t think they fully grasped it themselves. At the points when Cade began to recall certain dark memories, it was hard not to feel empathy for him. In my opinion he was a little resistant to love at first because he had never really known it. Valerie’s openness enveloped him in a way that had to be unfamiliar as well as unsettling. The author described in implicit detail the transportation of Valerie into her dreams so much so that I had to wonder if she had the gift of second sight herself. This was not the typical love story by any means. The only thing that I would have to say that I wished I knew more about was Aunt Ruby, being that the ‘gift’ she bequeathed to Valerie was a catalyst for the entire series. If you are into reads that go off of the beaten path then I would highly recommend this series.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Match made in Heaven
Reviewed in the United States on September 22, 2019


Sheesh! This book took me through sooo many emotions. I was getting worried that it wouldn't end the way that I envisioned especially since Cade and Val went through so much. I looove Val's unwillingness to never give up on Cade. Us women fall in love and we fall hard but Cade fell right along with her despite his dark moments and flaws. The ending was perfect. This was a diff type of read for me but I still enjoyed it! I'll be reading more from this author!!

5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot put it down.

Reviewed in the United States on April 1, 2019


This is a review for this series. I have not read as good a mystery as this series in a long time. You will not be able to put it down!!!